[SOLVED] Device advice/direction for complete rookie

Just stumbled upon Ubidots today and am very impressed! Mods, please move this if I posted in the wrong category.

As complete newbie to hardware (I am a database guy), when I Iook at the Ubidots compatible device list, I am completely baffled at where to start for my first “learning project”. If someone can point me in the right direction, I would very much appreciate it. Even if it’s only a phrase or two to google, or a link to a similar setup that would be fantastic. I’m just at the stage where I don’t even know the terminology yet.

What I want to build for my “learning project”:

• 5 random sensors, simultaneously posting to Ubidots for viewing on live dashboard
  • Wired, not wireless
  • Simple (I am a big fan of KISS, especially when learning)
  • Low-cost is a bonus, but not the major consideration

Future capabilities I’d like to add on to the learning project:

• Also posting to local database as a backup to Ubidots
  • Scalable to hundreds of sensors

Thanks for any input/direction and helping me pick my first device!

Ben, thanks for the note and glad you liked Ubidots. Here my thoughts:

• 5 random sensors, simultaneously posting to Ubidots for viewing on live dashboard
  • Wired, not wireless
  • Simple (I am a big fan of KISS, especially when learning)
  • Low-cost is a bonus, but not the major consideration

Options:

• Raspberry Pi: As a Linux computer, it is a good transition between the software and the hardware world. It has an ethernet port with DHCP enabled, so Internet access is plug-and-play. You can use our Python library with it.

• Arduino Ethernet Shield: Get an Arduino Uno or a variation of it, and then an Ethernet Shield. We have library for it as well. There are some bundled options (Arduino + Ethernet):

If wireless is an option, you can have a cheaper and wireless alternatives like the Particle Photon or the nodeMCU ($8). We have tutorials for both.